NGAUS Alert Image

NGAUS Call to Action; 18 November 2016

NGAUS strongly supports S. 3476 and H.R. 6377, the National Guard Bonus Repayment & Financial Relief Act, introduced on November 17th in the Senate by Senator Dianne Feinstein of California and in the House of Representatives by Representative Adam Schiff of California’s 28th Congressional District.  Contact your Senators and Members of Congress:  Ask them to support and co-sponsor the National Guard Bonus & Repayment Financial Relief Act.

This legislation contains provisions that will waive efforts of the Department of Defense (DoD) to reclaim bonuses that were improperly awarded to members of the Army National Guard from 2004-2010.  Upon reviewing all bonuses that were awarded within that time period, the bill will require the Secretary of the Army to:

  • Waive repayment of bonuses for affected service members who completed their service requirements and acted in good faith.
  • Reimburse service members who repaid bonuses and/or interest to the Department of Defense.
  • In cases where service members fell into financial hardship due to the repayment of bonuses, the Department of Defense will offer some financial assistance to those members.
  • Submit a report to Congress detailing the number of bonuses, incentive pays, or similar benefits identified through the review as being provided erroneously; the number of members of the Army National Guard against whom the Department of Defense proceeded with recoupment for erroneous provision, set forth by basis for recoupment and amount recouped; and the number of members of the Army National Guard for whom the Department waived recoupment for erroneous provision, set forth by basis of waiver, amount waived, and amount repaid to members whose waiver occurred after recoupment by the Department.

Original co-sponsors of the Senate bill include Senators Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Mark Warner (D-Va.) and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.).

Original co-sponsors of the House bill include Representatives Ami Bera (D-Calif.), Tony Cárdenas (D-Calif.), Jim Costa (D-Calif.), Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.), Sam Farr (D-Calif.), Mike Honda (D-Calif.), Jared Huffman (D-Calif.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Ted Lieu (D-Calif.), Alan Lowenthal (D-Calif.), Doris Matsui (D-Calif.), Grace Napolitano (D-Calif.), Scott Peters (D-Calif.), Ed Royce (D-Calif.), Linda Sánchez (D-Calif.), Brad Sherman (D-Calif.), Eric Swalwell (D-Calif.), Mark Takano (D-Calif.), Mike Thompson (D-Calif.), Norma Torres (D-Calif.), Juan Vargas (D-Calif.), Maxine Waters (D-Calif.), John Delaney (D-Md.), Don Young (R-Alaska), Jim McGovern (D-Mass.), Gwen Graham (D-Fla.) and Walter Jones (R-N.C.).

Take action now and please forward this message to your family, friends, and co-workers to ask them to take action, too.  Thank you for your support.

Gus Hargett
Major General (Ret.)
President, NGAUS
Take Action: Click here